Memory Fragment

I just remembered what might be the only clear memory of a face (that I’m reasonably sure was from my life as John Harris, anyhow).

I don’t know who he was, but I think he was a French civilian, possibly in Armentieres.

He was dressed for a chilly evening.  His face looked like a young Ringo Starr, with a prominent nose and long, straight black hair falling out from under a wide-brimmed hat.  I think he may have been Jewish, it seems he had a prayer shawl on, though there wasn’t a speck of stubble on him; he may have been very young, maybe no more than 16.

He stood there on a foggy street one evening.  His expression was blank.  Why do I remember him so clearly?

Leave a Reply

