More Evidence

Remember how I said that turning up evidence had become really simple by now?

I was just thinking I had never actually given a good look at the Google StreetView imagery in Armentieres.

My plan was to trace the route we would most likely have taken to Ypres.  I started in the center of town a few blocks down from the street that connects to the road to Ploegsteert and St. Julien, the most likely route if you know anything about the history of the area.

Right away I started finding details that were relevant.

At what is now called “Place du General DeGaulle” (I don’t know what it was called in 1915), there are shops with open arcades very similar to the ones I remember the small cabaret rooms at the brothels being in.

Leave a Reply

