Why I Don’t Entirely Trust Regressions

Past life regression is something that is a bit contentious in reincarnation research.  On the one hand, there are often details that come up that can be confirmed but aren’t necessarily common knowledge; on the other hand, most commonly brings up things that are more easily explained by cryptomnesia.

But even if the past life you recover by regression is genuine, I’m not sure that you can trust every detail that comes up.

Recently, I put myself in a trance while a friend was present and began having a memory about a cylindrical object looming over me.  Trouble is, he kept asking me to expound on details that weren’t in the memories.

Feeling like I ought to remember more, I just sort of began to take shots in the dark, but the more I did this, the more I lost this memory.  I went from thinking my surroundings were props and sets for the movie “Aelita” (which would have made me very young) to being a girl playing a boy in the late 1950s, and both were frankly random shots in the dark that I had absolutely no confidence in.  I found the recollection was more “me” when I didn’t try to force myself to remember whether I was male or female, or what city the studio was in, and as I tried to remember these things I find I kept having to draw from a bank of historic knowledge to fill in the blanks.  The fact is, the memory itself was a tiny fragment and so many things about myself and the people around me simply weren’t there any more.

Given the huge gaps in memory, I’m pretty sure that our past life memories are terribly fragmented, much like the data recovered from a hard drive damaged in a fire.  You might get something off of it, but it won’t be complete data and you can never be completely sure what the missing data actually was because it’s not there; it’s simply gone and you can’t get it back.

I feel like regression therapy, which inevitably asks you to name these important details, might unwittingly encourage you to fill in the blanks when more often than not, your genuine memories simply don’t have any “data” there.

You’re better off putting yourself in a trance in whatever way works for you, without any sort of prompting from another person.  Music is fine but take it into account when assessing your memories; if you start listening to The Beatles and have a past life memory of being John Lennon, it makes sense to cross reference a few things before buying a pair of little round glasses and phoning Yoko!

I’m sure not every regressionist works this way, and I’m sure that a lot of people can actually remember things in more detail than I can; I’m just not sure having another person prompting you on what to remember is a good idea.

Leave a Reply

