Another Coincidence?

I discovered a pub in Hereford called the Lichfield Vaults.  It would have been known by this name when I lived in the city.  It was remodeled in 1914 so I would have been familiar with the older layout.

This site says of the pre-1914 layout:

“Before the alterations took place, the ground floor plan consisted of a large L-shaped smoke room towards the rear of the building, which was approached by a long side passage. It was very much a meeting room with wall seating and two fireplaces. At the front of the building was a minute public bar, about 8 feet long by 5 feet wide – smaller than a prison cell – and inevitably with standing room only.”

That is very much the same description as a pub where I and a group of friends in London went back in 2004.  I can’t remember the name of the place now, seems it was off Tottenham Court Road.  It had the small, intimate room in the back with a small, crowded bar up front (though not as small as the one at the Lichfield Vaults).  I remember feeling strangely at home there, as though I remembered being in a similar space with gents in bowlers and the thick smoke from pipes and cigars clouding the air.

Now I know where that space might have been.  There’s a good chance I frequented the Lichfield Vaults.

Leave a Reply

