A Visual Reference

To give some idea of the narrow aspect of the columns I recall in that unknown church in the Middle Ages, I found a good reference to columns that look kind of similar:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/d9/Clo%C3%AEtre_de_Moissac_1.jpg

These are at the Benedictine abbey in Moissac, France.  I do know that these columns are not the ones I saw as these are in the cloister; the columns I remember ran along the aisle next to the Nave, and did not run to the floor but came to a low screen or fence-type divider with a few doorways in between.  Also, they were black; whether this was black stone or stone painted to appear black, I am not sure.

Still, the image should give some idea of the narrow aspect of the columns I remember, and might help jog someone’s memory if the place still exists.  Personally, I’m doubtful that the place was real and if it was, I’m doubtful it still stands in a form I would recognize, but you never know.

One thought on “A Visual Reference

  1. It’s really a cool and useful piece of info. I’m glad
    that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

