Second attempt: Unclear result

I used the same recording and got only elaborations on memories I already had.

I’m going to have to keep trying until I can read the results for what they are; three times is only a minimum.  I’ll do it as many times as I need to in order to get a good grip on what the results actually yield.

I recalled small details from John’s life.  This is suspicious already because I was just talking about that, so it already has the smell of wishful thinking and I don’t like it at all.

It was things that were difficult to confirm because they were nonspecific, or included details I would know already from research.  That’s another red flag.

For the record, the memories I had are:

*Battle of Bellewaerde Ridge- I recalled getting out of a freshly-dug communications trench by the railway lines at night, but in full monlight.  I already know from later research it was a moonlight assault, although most of my memories before tonight were at or after sunrise (bear in mind that sunrise was about 2 AM on the two days of the battle).  I would trust my earlier memories more than this one.

*Houplines- Daylight, summer 1915. Marching in a column in a freshly-dug communications trench.  It’s narrow, so narrrow we can only march through single file, and I shudder as I think of how the walls of my grave will look like this.  Suddenly, an artillery shell hits the junction of our trench and another communication trench, then another shell hits closer to our column following the line of the trench, but a little off-center.  The shells keep getting closer and we retreated to a safer trench while they shelled the one we’d been standing in for some minutes.  I suppose I might be able to confirm this if I look into WWI artillery tactics, since I haven’t been able to find many resources on that topic.  For now, it seems like just an elaboration.

*Houplines- 8 July 1915.  Lying dead or near-dead in the bottom of a narrow trench.  A man comes up to me and turns to someone with a look of horror and says in a hushed voice, “They got Johnny.”  Wow… melodrama…  Unless I can find that in someone’s diary, I’m not convinced.

Now you see why I’m being generous and giving this method more than three chances.  It all seems melodramatic and invented building on previous memories, but maybe there’s a kernel of truth to some of it.

I’ll try it again in a few days and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

