Strange Development

This was unexpected.  I decided to do some more research on Longespee to take my mind off John and learned something about his home.

Longespee’s seat of power was almost certainly the castle at Old Sarum, an iron age hill fort that had been expanded in Norman times (including a very handsome castle built on the site which sadly lays in ruins).

Apparently though, the site is also one frequented by modern-day druids.

This is strange because for a period between 2009 and 2012, I explored the Neopagan religions of Britain, though my study favored British Traditional Witchcraft until I realized it was nothing new if you were familiar with gnostic and Hermetic ideas.  It was fun though, and I met a lot of really great people.  One of them who crossed my path, interestingly enough, was a druid priest from a grove in Arkansas.

This is frankly surprising since it’s the first Pagan connection I have to any of this, though it is an extraordinarily tenuous one; I’m not sure if the historical druids had anything to do with the site, and historical druidry is long-extinct anyhow (the revival is to the original what Linux is to Unix: an attempt to make something that works within the same parameters without referring directly to the source).  Because of this I can’t get too excited and this entry is for reference only.

Edit: In 2004 I traveled to some sites in the northern part of Wiltshire, ending at Avebury.  When I was in Avebury, I was standing on a line of sites that runs unbroken past Silbury Hill, Stonehenge, Old Sarum, and Salisbury Cathedral.  Definitely weird.

Leave a Reply

