Strange Developments

So a brief re-cap first.

A few days ago, someone on a reincarnation forum I post on mentioned her idea of what “the other side” was like, and at first my thought was to say “it wasn’t like that for me, it was lonely, disorienting, and terrifying.”  But then I slept on it and had a flash of insight the next time I thought about it.  I suddenly realized that I was so fixed on the idea that the realm beyond death would be unpleasant that I hadn’t seriously considered the prospect of it being otherwise, or of possibly even having some control over the experience.  I realized that John died badly and that the thought of going back into that weird place to come out as something unpredictable was behind my lingering fear of death.

That brought to mind the Tibetan Book of the Dead, along with the concepts of heaven and hell in the broader sense across the various religions that believe in heavenly and infernal realms.  If one dies badly or with bad things unresolved, they’re in no emotional state to enter into it and have any degree of pleasantness.  The brain releases tremendous amounts of a substance called DMT at the moment of death and like any psychedelic, DMT can cause a good trip or a bad trip.  You have to be in the right mind to die or that impression of a bad death stays with you.

No sooner had I had this revelation, when I see this story:

http://news.yahoo.com/photos/tibetan-monks-at-salisbury-cathedral-1380835860-slideshow/

Buddhist monks from Tibet performed the delicate ritualized creation of sand paintings in Salisbury Cathedral.  This ritual is often performed as part of Tibetan death rites.

For those just catching this page by accident, I had some memories and weird coincidences that pointed me toward a possible past life as William Longespee (yes, I know, I’m a nutjob).  Longespee is buried in Salisbury Cathedral and was present when they laid the cornerstone.

This is kind of weird.  I know they weren’t looking for me, but the timing gave me chills.  Maybe I’m onto something with this book of the dead thing.  I’m in no hurry to die again and try out my theories, but it’ll give me something to do when the time comes I suppose (hopefully many long and happy years from now).

Also, this comes at a time when I’m taking an advanced course in Western art history in a building with this design in the stonework:

DSCF4493

I’m also taking an Asian art course across campus.

I will say this, by the way: the design I show is very similar to a symbol relevant to my most recent past life.  I still am not ready to say whose life I remembered because that comes with some problems for me but I’ll report what I find and see if it leads anyone else to the same conclusions or if I’m just blowing smoke up my own ass.

Leave a Reply

