Not Fun

Made my anxiety spike when I heard this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Px2E4SLRNmA

The guys play just fine… it’s just I know I’ve heard at least one of those songs on accordion before, or at least a concertina.  

Come to think of it, certain melodies played on a concertina always put me in an odd sort of mood.  I once heard an accordion rendition of Verdi’s famous aria “Va Pensiero” and it sounded so right that way to me, and I always wondered why.

I also remembered a concertina player at John’s funeral.  He played “Abide With Me.”  

I hadn’t thought to research this before, but I need to find out if the 2nd Shropshires had a concertinist as one of their company musicians.

Leave a Reply

