Memory Fragment

I’ve actually had this memory for years, come to think of it.  I had always written it off as poetic imagination, but in hindsight this could be something from my previous life.

I’ve always pictured a specific room whenever I’ve listened to Big Band music from the 30s and 40s.  The music wafts in, perhaps half-heard from another room or another apartment altogether.  It was a rather dingy apartment building with a very spartan layout.  My room had very little of anything in it.  The floors were wood and creaked when you walked on them.  The window was about 2′ off the ground, and about 3′ wide by 4′ tall.  It opened out onto a street or alleyway, and we were 2-5 floors up.

This could be a place I lived in my previous life, though where exactly, I’m not sure.  I don’t know of any apartments I may have lived in back in the 30s or 40s (it was always houses until the 70s), and I have never found anything to suggest these memories are related, so it could be a fluke.

Leave a Reply

