Another Memory

I didn’t choose a longsword for power; I chose it for precision.  The two-handed technique it requires gives better control; with both hands on the grip and a balance point as close to the crossbar as the swordsmith could manage, it proved to be a highly maneuverable weapon.

The popular misconception is that these weapons were cumbersome and not very effective, and that they were much slower and less accurate than weapons made by Arab or Japanese swordsmiths around the same time; in fact, if you search “broadsword vs. katana” on YouTube you’ll find that European swordsmithing was actually rather excellent in the 12th and 13th centuries.

On a side note, this preference for precision over power has carried over across lifetimes.  It’s a bit surprising since in my last two lives I’ve actually been largely pacifist but I guess old habits die hard.

As John I joined a light infantry division and lived by my Lee-Enfield, a rifle with disputed but frequently understated accuracy.  As Phil, while living in Santa Venetia, I owned a Ruger Mk I .22 caliber pistol for self-defense when the roommate situation started to scare me.  I remember choosing the Mk I for its accuracy (certainly not for its power since a .22 is one of the weakest cartridges).  I know from a letter written in the 1970s that this was one of the items stolen from that house, probably during the 1972 break-in.  In this life, while living in an eerily similar situation, I once owned a Bersa Thunder .380, a slightly underpowered but more accurate clone of a Walther PPK (which I got rid of shortly after remembering John’s life).

Leave a Reply

