My Name Is Not My Brand

My name is not my brand and writing is not my career.

There was a time when only a horse could rightly say “I’m at the height of my career,” and only cattle and outlaws could rightly say “my name is my brand.” There was a time when human beings were not valued the same way machines are, by how useful they are to the process of production.

As much as we try to dress it up in terms of empowerment, the language we use to describe our occupations in the modern world gives away one fundamental fact: the modern age has turned human beings into livestock, or units of production.

The modern age robbed us of our humanity and we see nothing wrong with it, because we know no other way.

Leave a Reply

