Found This

I found one of the earliest stories Phil wrote after the experiences of 2-3-74, and it’s of great interest to me for its context more than its content.  It’s called “Eye of the Sibyl”

https://www.rosicrucian.org/publications/digest/digest2_2008/Web%20version/WS_02_PKD/c_WS_02_PKD.pdf

You can see he was struggling to get across the ideas in his mind at the time.  The more refined books, like “Radio Free Albemuth,” “VALIS,” “The Divine Invasion,” and “Transmigration of Timothy Archer” all came much later, around 1978-1982.  “Eye of the Sibyl” by contrast is awkward and hard to get into.

In a way, this makes me feel encouraged because the first stories I wrote about my experiences were also awkward and hard to get into.  As time passed I integrated these new ideas better and expounded them into novels I am now very proud of, but I had to start from a very awkward place.

I suppose I haven’t changed that much after all, at least when it comes to certain traits I have as a writer.

Leave a Reply

