I Know This Place!

St. Mary’s Parish Church, Dennington, Suffolk.  I don’t know when I know it from (probably not the Middle Ages since the pews look about right, and those are probably post-medieval) but I definitely know this church.

I haven’t gotten a clue this strong that I knew a place from a past life since I first saw a photo of the Marin County Civic Center.  The difference there is I already had an inkling that I’d had a past life in Marin County in the 60s; this one just came out of nowhere and I haven’t gotten that reaction to any of the dozens of other old churches I’ve seen photos and video of.

Incidentally, I spied this very unique nave in a wonderful documentary about medieval sensibilites toward death and how they left their mark on old churches:

Leave a Reply

