A Brief Rant

First of all, let me say that for the most part, I liked “Blade Runner.”  I thought it was a really well-done film and I’m proud to have had a hand in a production like that one in my previous life (though an interesting fact: I finally saw this film in 2013 in its “Final Cut” edition; I never got to see it in my previous life).

That being said, it annoys me somewhat that when I mention that I was Phil, the usual reaction is “I haven’t read any of your work, but Blade Runner was a cool movie!”

Now granted, that’s better than bringing up “Total Recall” which was undoubtedly the most confused and incompetent adaptation of my previous life’s work I’ve ever seen, but it kind of tells me my writing didn’t have the impact I would have liked.

Please, if you liked Blade Runner, read some of my previous life’s other work.  Yes, some of it (especially the Valis trilogy and the Exegesis) is a bit dense and hard to get into, but there’s plenty of other novels and stories worth a look.

If nothing else, if you liked “Blade Runner,” at least take a look at “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?” and if you like that, try “Ubik” and “The Man in the High Castle.”  I had a substantial output and you might be surprised just how much Hollywood has either gotten wrong or glossed over completely.  And if you’re feeling adventurous, please give my realistic fiction like “Confessions of a Crap Artist” a chance.

I’ve got some new stuff too, from this life, but I don’t feel like it’s half as good as what I wrote back then.  Please, give my previous life’s work a serious look.

Leave a Reply

