Total Exhaustion

I’m going to take a prolonged break from writing.

I finished and submitted the final draft of the novel that’s been driving me mad for the last 8 or 9 months.  While I feel that I’ve really outdone myself with the quality of my work, having to go over it again and again ad nauseum has actually caused me to grow extremely tired of it.

Some of the irritating notes made by my publisher that showed a lack of understanding about what I was going for actually brought back memories of my time as Phil, and how I would sometimes struggle to preserve my vision against a call for extreme edits.  I feel I’ve managed to keep the book’s character for the most part but I always feel at odds with suggestions to change things in a way that doesn’t mesh well with the rest of the book or my original ideas.

Also, it’s a relief to know that the book is now in my publisher’s hands and I have nothing more on my end to take care of.  But I feel like that tension has been the only thing keeping me awake the last couple of weeks and I suddenly want to sleep, though if I fall asleep now I’ll wake up at an inconvenient hour of the morning and have to figure out what to do with the rest of my day.

I’m creatively and physically exhausted from all this, and I’m still not done.  Once I have the final release date and a few sundry details nailed down, I’m going to go out of my way to promote this work.  I’ve been published since 2010 but I never thought anything I wrote had this much potential or appeal, so I’ll be pushing it just about everywhere but the sites I talk about my past lives.

Leave a Reply

