A Bright Spot

I don’t seem to have fallen as hard into a mood about my latest memories as I have in the past.  It seems that my research has provided some relief after all.

Just today, I made some really impressive discoveries about the provenance of a medieval manuscript in the collections of the Multnomah County library.  I had been trying to pinpoint the workshop that made it but that lead turned cold; however, I’m finding many other pieces of valuable information about the book’s provenance that will no doubt be of interest to the library and to the professor teaching the class.

The whole experience has been rewarding and engrossing for me and I find that the ghosts of 1915 don’t have the same hold on me they once did.  Perhaps medieval scholarship is only ad-hoc relief but it’s relief nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

