It’s Close To Time

It’s close to time for me to graduate.

I only have 2 1/2 more weeks of classes, I’ve got the first draft of my essay on that old manuscript done and ready to hand in today, and I’ll also be picking up my pre-ordered cap and gown today.

I can’t believe it’s almost time.  I can’t believe I’ve almost finished.  I’m actually doing something that I can’t remember doing in any lifetime before this one.  If I can go just 2 1/2 more weeks, it means I’m not doomed to keep making the same mistakes I’ve always made.  It doesn’t have to be like Berkeley in the 40s; I’m a new person with new possibilities.

Maybe I won’t have to struggle so much once I have a degree in hand.  That was something I never had in my last life and it always stung because I was a smart person, I just didn’t have a piece of paper to prove it to a credential-obsessed culture.  The trade-off is that a 4-year degree is worth less now than it was back then so I’m kind of at a loss as to what I should really expect.

Leave a Reply

