Old Sheldon Church

A few nights ago, I had a dream about a brick colonnaded building.  It was very richly appointed, and I think it was built by a rich family.  It had a roof and doors in my dream.

It looked an awful lot like the ruins of the Old Sheldon Church in Yemasee, South Carolina:

Some months before that, I had a dream that I was in a large cemetery- a necropolis, really- of large old-fashioned above-ground tombs with heavy shade from large oak trees.

Yep, you guessed it, Old Sheldon Church Again!

Now here’s the bizarre thing: even though I grew up in the South Carolina lowcountry, I don’t recall ever going to the Old Sheldon Church.  I stumbled on the image tonight by accident while looking for photos of Old Fort Dorchester which I went to often as a child, but this one eludes me.  I simply can’t remember if I’ve been there or not.  But what I can say is that it was in my dream, and that it had a roof even though this particular church has been a ruin since the Civil War.

Perhaps it’s nothing.  I’ve e-mailed my father to ask if I’ve ever been to these ruins as a child.

Leave a Reply

