John or Jack?

I can’t believe I didn’t notice this sooner.

Going back through Philip K. Dick’s works, I discover that in at least two places he referred to himself as “Jack.”  In “Confessions of a Crap Artist,” he used the name Jack Isidore for his author avatar character.  He also wrote “Orpheus With Clay Feet” under the name “Jack Dowland,” which was a reference to the composer John Dowland.

Indeed, “Jack” is a nickname for John and it’s got me wondering if I wasn’t better known, during my earlier life, as Jack Harris and if Phil’s use of this name wasn’t somehow a residual memory.  It’s a long shot to say the least but it’s food for thought.

I really need to get back to reading his work to see if I can spot more instances of the name Jack.  Maybe this is just a fluke or maybe he was thinking of Dowland in both instances.

Still, “Jack” is a rather fitting name for a country boy from Somerset.  It’s trusty, strong, and unassuming.  That’s certainly how I would like to think I was back in those days.

Leave a Reply

