Things Looking Up Finally

So some updates to my present life that I’m very pleased to be making:

First, I’ve managed to broker a truce with the roommate.  I’ll never get all of the back rent for September and October, but because I had originally told him to move out at the end of November anyway, he has one final chance to show he’s sincere about keeping his share of things paid up.  If he doesn’t pay, he’s gone by the 30 and if he does pay, he can stay on until December.  If he can keep up his end of things for the rest of the year, then things will be just fine.

Second, I got my letters of recommendation sorted for my surgery.  My transition is nearly at a successful end.  I’ve also got an appointment with the surgeon to discuss details.  I thought I’d be scared, intimidated, or change my mind but no; not now.  I had tried to force myself not to want it because I thought it was something I could never have, but now that it’s within my grasp I find it’s on my mind every waking hour.  I’ve very nearly got myself physically and socially feeling like everything fits for once.  Unless I have serious doubts about the surgeon paid for by the Oregon Health Plan, I’m not backing down.

Finally, On 1 November I’ve got a portion of my old automobilia collection (mostly mint-in-box diecast cars) going up for auction.  It’s stuff I left behind at my father’s place in South Carolina that I have neither the money nor interest to ship out to Oregon.  The auctioneer is an old family friend in Charleston who is very excited to sell what I’m offering.

It isn’t so much that I outgrew my interest as the fact that it’s part of a past that I’m no longer keen on clinging to.  But the collection I built up before about age 21 or 22 was big and valuable enough that I’m thinking I could easily go from collecting to dealing with the stock I’ve got.

The ones I’m selling off in the near future are newer stock (90s-2000s with most from around 1995 to 1999) plus a few other random items.  I don’t expect to get more than about $800-1500 for all of it though there are a few items that have a chance of bumping the value up into the $2500 range.

I also have some very rare items from the 50s through the 70s.  These include some of the very earliest Hot Wheels cars from 1968, near-mint 1950s Rod and Custom magazines, and some dealer promo models from the 1950s.  That part of the collection is probably worth somewhere in the tens of thousands.

I’ll keep the really valuable vintage items for now.  I’ll use some of the money from selling the newer items to buy some more vintage stock.  Once I’ve acquired a large enough vintage stock, I’m going to have another auction that will leave our auctioneer friend breathless!  I’m clued in enough from years of collecting on where to get bargains, so I’m confident I’ll be able to pick the very best items with a few hundred in capital to start with.  After that, maybe I’ll use the seed money from that auction to become a picker.  It’s a good business if you know what you’re doing and I think my experience will be very helpful, since I spent so much of my youth in antique stores and learned a great deal about the antique trade in general.

Exactly why this never occurred to me, I’ll never know.  What better career for someone who lives in the past than to buy and sell artifacts from it?

Leave a Reply

