Happy Christmas

On this day 790 years ago, William Longespee landed in Cornwall after a long sea voyage to celebrate his last Christmas safely back in England.

On this day 101 years ago, John Harris spent the last Christmas in England I have had in any life to date.

But though I’ve been gone long, over the sea and given up for dead, I will return one day.  I will have my Christmas on England’s shores again.

To the surviving relatives that I now believe I still have in Yeovil and Hereford, most of whom are probably my thrice-great nephews and nieces, I’m here and I’m thinking of you.  Happy Christmas to you all and God keep you!

Leave a Reply

