Aucto Splendore Resurgo

I’ve noticed that the phrase “Aucto Splendore Resurgo” is now the most-searched term that brings people to my blog, but there was no appearance of that particular search term until May of last year with the search term “What does Aucto Splendore Resurgo mean?”

The phrase on its own doesn’t appear until September of last year (what is it about that month?) and now it has been getting between 1 and 4 hits per month ever since.

I am genuinely interested in knowing what’s been drawing people to search this phrase.  I probably explained it at some point but it bears repeating since it’s always been one of those little things that just felt like a sign post as I was trying to make sense of a prior life as a soldier in the First World War.

I discovered that the regiment I had served in during that life was the King’s Shropshire Light Infantry (KSLI).  I’m a bit hazy on the details, but in one of the earlier iterations of the regiment that later became the KSLI, they had just reformed the regiment for the first time and they adopted the motto “Aucto Splendore Resurgo,” which means “I rise again with greater splendor.”  As far as I know the motto has stayed with every successive iteration including the Light Infantry (1963-present).

I always thought it was poetic that I was a reincarnation case who had served in a regiment during a past life with “I rise again with greater splendor” as their motto.  I always felt it might be a sign post, a meta-message lurking in the obscure facts to show there’s something else at work here, like the ads and graffiti in “Ubik.”

Interestingly enough, the first person I met who also had a past life as a British soldier in WWI was an Old Contemptible with the Royal Artillery.

Their regiment’s slogan?

Ubique.  “Everywhere.”  The word that “Ubik” is derived from.

So yeah… Sign posts… “Jump in the urinal and stand on your head” and all that.

Leave a Reply

