Screenplay Finished

This is it, my penultimate draft is complete!

I still have almost 3 weeks to get it finished before the deadline to submit to the Academy Nicholl Fellowships, too! All it really needs is one final once-over, and I think I can wait a few days so that I can look at it with fresh eyes.

I’m excited, to say the least. Five weeks ago I was asking if someone else could adapt my first published novel into a screenplay for me. Now I’ve got plans to enter a prestigious screenwriting contest with a screenplay that just over a month ago, I didn’t think I was capable of producing!

And you know what? Prize or no prize, I’m already a winner because I discovered that another writing skill from my last life is still there.  Back then I wrote screenplays based on one or two of my novels, though none were ever produced (the movie adaptations of my books were the work of other writers).  I think my tendency to write unnatural and stilted dialogue was a major factor.

If my novels are better, maybe my screenplays are too.  The Nicholl Fellowship competition guarantees my work will be read at least twice.  This is the same competition where “Finding Forrester” and “Akeelah and the Bee” were discovered so as the late great Freddie Mercury used to say, “talent will out, my dears.”

I still haven’t given up on my big comeback.  As long as I have a pulse, I will keep writing.

Leave a Reply

