Roommate stuff

This new roommate was worth the trip to go get.

He’s been making subtle improvements throughout the apartment.  He’s been conscientious, polite, and actively involved in the household.  He was even nice enough to pay a pro-rated share of the rent for this month even though I wasn’t going to ask him for rent until June!

He’s the polar opposite of our old roommate who is still here.

I’m starting to realize just how unhappy we’ve been with our old roommate, and how this place just hasn’t felt like a home up until now.  We’ve been sharing it with a stranger who seldom leaves his room and hangs out with people we really don’t like.  I used to be good friends with him but he’s gotten surly and unapproachable since he started hanging out with a bunch of guys who just go around popping just-this-side-of-legal research chemicals and sponging off others.

I’m starting to realize how much I wish he would just leave and let my fiance and I get on with our lives with a new roommate who is actually making our lives better.  Every time I try to get him to move out he drags his feet.  Every time I give him a deadline to shape up or ship out he does the bare minimum to get by.

I’m sick of it.  I don’t need this shit in my life any more.  He’s a remnant of a time in my life that I’ve already outgrown and if he doesn’t want to grow up and be an active member of this household then I’m going to have to ask him to leave eventually.  I know it, and yet I have been doing everything to avoid it.

 

Leave a Reply

