Now They Miss It…

One of my most cherished memories from Jack’s childhood was of seeing the milky way, with only the faintest distant light from gas lamps to spoil it at all.

I have only experienced that wonder once in my life, at a campground in Oklahoma in 2009 when the power went out, gazing up in wonder and waxing drunkenly about the vastness of creation.

That was always something I missed.  Apparently, only now is anyone realizing what a profound cultural loss this age of light pollution has brought about:

https://www.theguardian.com/science/2016/jun/10/milky-way-no-longer-visible-to-one-third-of-humanity-light-pollution

 

I only wish enough people cared that we could have dark skies in more places.  I am very lucky to live in the western US where I could see dark skies given enough time and money to travel, but I dearly wish I could walk just a few miles from home and see it.

Leave a Reply

