Bought A Turntable

I just bought a Sony PSLX300USB turntable.

I had a $150 gift card from my mother that she sent me for my birthday back in mid-June that I’d been holding onto, so I decided to look for the best turntable under $150. The Sony model came up and got decent reviews.  Sony’s usually good value for money so I decided to give it a chance.

The only down side: it doesn’t have a 78 RPM setting (I’d have to shell out a bit more for a nice option like that).  But with 33 and 45 RPM settings that still leaves a lot of really great recordings from the 60s and 70s that I can play!

I’m going to start building a new record collection.  Rather than trying to re-build the one I had in my last life, I want to buy the sorts of records I like; that will, of course, include some titles I liked in my last life (especially some of the classical titles like Beethoven’s symphonies and Wagner’s “Parsifal”), but it will also include some stuff I’m pretty sure I didn’t have, like some obscure prog and old-school reggae.

I got into prog rock in this life, through my fiance.  Our courtship was a very musical one, as courtships tend to be with me (this was true in my last life as well), and we often exchanged songs to express how we felt about each other, or shared songs that we enjoyed.  My fiance was more into prog than I was, and I soon discovered Yes, Genesis in their early years, King Crimson, and then more obscure bands like Aphrodite’s Child.

I’m still my own person, after all, with tastes that have remained similar but have nonetheless evolved… but the tactile ritual of playing a vinyl record and relaxing on my couch will be a nice, relaxing, grounding experience putting me in a familiar and comfortable headspace.

 

Leave a Reply

