Memory Fragment

I just had the first fragment of Jack’s life I’ve experienced in a while.

It was a sprig of holly in the corner of a Christmas card.  I had the feeling that they were real leaves, and that I was a child, pasting them in the corners of cards friends and family had sent us while my mother hung the finished cards near the mantle.

I wish I could dial into this memory more, but it was brief and elusive.  These memories of Jack’s childhood have been so few and precious.  The war overshadowed so many tender moments… I just want those tender moments back.

Leave a Reply

