Thoughts About My Last Post (pt.1)

Back in early 2013, when I was still in the early stages of making sense of my memories from Jack’s life, I took a class in existentialism.  I was always struck, when I read the works of Sartre in particular, how much he grappled with the idea of free will and its implications.  I found he had the start of a philosophy, but lacked nuance and refinement.

Now, I think I understand why.  I had taken for granted how much fatalism and determinism shaped the European psyche up to the first half of the 20th century.  He was in new territory to espouse an extreme version of free will.  I don’t agree with all of his conclusions, but I think I know where he was coming from.

More thoughts to follow after my shift is done.  Writing this on break.

Leave a Reply

