Sorry for that

I have extremely strong feelings about war, having died in one.  I really don’t fancy dying in another.

I don’t want to end my day (it’s Friday Morning technically but it’s still Thursday Night for me for all practical purposes) without something nice so I thought I’d share something that will make all the difference for me if WW3 doesn’t piss on my parade.

Today I received a rare English translation of a medieval text in the mail, which I intend to use to write my first straight historical fiction novel.

It’s exciting because once I finish my current crop of SF/Fantasy stories (I still have a bit of a queue to clear), I can give my writing a new lease by shifting my focus.  I proved that I could still write a damned good science fiction novel, and now I’m ready to tackle new challenges.  My SF material has already become more and more historically oriented anyhow and I feel it fits where I am in my current life better.  I don’t plan to give up SF completely, I just want to try something different.

Leave a Reply

