Friendship

I’ve been very fortunate in the last few months to have made friends with someone I may have known in a prior life.

It’s an odd set of circumstances.  We met via Facebook (a mutual friend introduced us I think) and although I’d known of her presence on social media, I didn’t want to bother her.  We had e-mailed once before in 2013 about some memories I’d had surface and I didn’t really want to impose.  I feared I would be at best an unwelcome presence who would set off alarm bells and at worst, something abominable, like a revenant.

But it hasn’t been that way.  We keep things pretty normal via Facebook and that’s how I like it.

I don’t know if she believes my claims but I don’t expect her to, and I’m not sure I want to know.  I think she told me in our first conversatin she didn’t believe in reincarnation and that’s fine.  It kind of simplifies things if I’m just an affable eccentric to her.

Still I worry sometimes about what the boundaries of something like this really are.  There’s really no script for this sort of thing in our culture; I’m sure in places like India or Thailand there’s probably an appropriate custom for approacing a possible past life acquaintance but I didn’t grow up in those cultures.  I’m cautious because it is a sensitive subject and I respect her feelings.

For what it’s worth though, I’m glad I’ve met her this time around, and I’m glad we’ve kept the baggage to a minimum.  The past is gone and there’s no retrieving it but I feel just a little less lost now.

Leave a Reply

